How - ToLearnSocial Media

How to Delete, Edit, and Download Videos on TikTok

We look at how you can edit a video on TikTok before posting, how to download videos, and how you can delete a video if you regret posting it or if you find it embarrassing.

TikTok is undoubtful one of the most used social media platforms today and has gained immense popularity. The app has blown up despite competition from already established networks becoming so popular because it has content that is difficult to ignore comes in so many varieties that suit almost anybody and is easy to use.

The app is popular with teenagers —and allows users to create short-form videos, from genres like dance, comedy, and education, that have a duration of up to three minutes. The video-only interface makes it less elaborate, less detailed, and much easier to use compared to other social media platforms.

In this article, we look at how you can edit a video on TikTok before posting, how to download videos, and how you can delete a video if you regret posting it or if you find it embarrassing.

Let’s get started.

1. How to delete a TikTok video

To delete a TikTok video, open the TikTok app and follow these steps:

  • Go to your profile (tap the Person icon in the nav bar).
  • Go to your publicly or privately shared videos and select the one to delete.
  • Tap the three-dot icon to the right of the video.
  • Select “Delete” in the pop-up menu.

You can delete a private TikTok video as well. To do this, follow the same steps you would follow to delete a public video. Simply open the TikTok app, find the video you want to delete, tap the three-dot icon to the right of the video, and select “Delete.” The video will then be removed from your account.

When you delete a video, the video is removed from your profile and is no longer accessible on the platform. However, if other users have downloaded or shared your video before you deleted it, they will have a copy of it and can re-upload it. Also, if your video has been used in a duet or reaction video, the other user’s video may still be available on TikTok even after you delete your original video.

Notably, you can’t delete someone else’s video. But you can report the video to TikTok if you find it distressing, and TikTok will investigate who will take measures including taking it down if needed. To report the video;

  • Go to the video you want to report.
  • Press and hold on to the video.
  • Select “Report” and follow the instructions.
2. Download the video before deleting it

If you want to keep a copy of your TikTok video before deleting it,

  • Go to the TikTok video you want to download.
  • Hold down on the screen until a menu appears.
  • Select “Save video”.
  • The video will then begin downloading to your device.
3. How to edit a TikTok video

Once your footage has been uploaded or recorded, you can use the options from the right-hand menu on the screen to add text, stickers, effects, filters, or captions. You cannot edit a video after it’s already been created and shared on TikTok.

  • Within the TikTok app, select the “+” button from the bottom of your screen.
  • Upload content from your device library or use the TikTok camera to shoot a video.
  • Add sounds, effects, filters, or other camera features from the on-screen options.
  • Start your video by pressing the red record button and then tap the check mark once done.
  • Make additional edits on the posting page such as adding captions or stickers.
  • When ready, post your video.

ALSO READ: HOW TO CREATE A VIDEO PLAYLIST ON TIKTOK

Tags

Joan Banura

A journalist at heart 💜 with a passion for Tech.
Back to top button
PC Tech Magazine
Close

Adblock Detected

Please disable your adblocker to continue accessing this site.