CompTIA A+: Certification and Exam Overview

There are many credentials that are designed forthe entry-level professionals in the field of IT. However, CompTIA A+ is one of the most popular and well-recognized certifications for the individuals starting out in the industry. Over the years, more than 270,000 candidates have been awarded the A+ certificate.

Administered by CompTIA, it is vendor-neutral and validates the entry-level skills of the students in PC technology. It covers their knowledge required to function optimally in the job role of a computer service technician, as well as their competence in repairing and troubleshooting PCs.

It’s important to debunk the general assumption that the CompTIA A Plus – Security Plus – Network Plus Certification Questions is the best for anyone who starts working in the field of IT. The fact is that there are numerous job roles and domains in the industry. These cover tech support to the programmers, and that’s it. Each of these jobs has its own skills, experience, and required training. Sometimes, A+ doesn’t cover some career profile. For instance, this credential may not make a significant difference in the career pursuit of a Java programmer, while it will be one of the best options for those candidates who want to take up a tech support or help desk technician role. This means that before you decide to pursue any certificate, it is important that you choose the best one that aligns with your career goals.

CompTIA A+ Certification

There are nine core skills that are validated by the CompTIA A+ certification. Let’s look at them briefly.

  1. Hardware: The A+ certificate validates the student’s ability to utilize, identify, and connect devices and hardware components.
  2. Operating Systems: The learners will be equipped with the relevant skills to install and support Windows operating systems such as client support and command line. They will also develop their expertise in Linux, Mac OS, and mobile OS.
  3. Software Troubleshooting: Mastering mobile device and PC troubleshooting skills such as application security support is part of the competency that will be developed in preparation for the A+ certification exams.
  4. Networking: The CompTIA A+ credential helps the applicants demonstrate their knowledge and ability to describe various types of connections and networks, including WiFi, SOHO, TCP/IP.
  5. Hardware and Network Troubleshooting: This certification prepares you for the role of troubleshooting network and device issues.
  6. Security: The individuals will be equipped with the required skills for identifying and protecting against all security vulnerabilities for both devices and their network connections.
  7. Mobile Device: By going through the CompTIA A+ certification process, you will develop the capacity to install and configure laptops and other different mobile devices.
  8. Virtualization and Cloud Computing: You will get the knowledge required to compare Cloud computing concepts and develop the skills for setting up client-side virtualization.
  9. Operational Procedures: The candidates for this certificate will be equipped with everything they need to maintain best practices for environmental impacts, communication, professionalism, and safety visit .

CompTIA A+ Certification Exams

There are two exams that the students have to pass in order to earn the CompTIA A+ certification. They are CompTIA 220-1001 and CompTIA 220-1002. It is a must to complete and pass these tests in order to obtain this sought-after credential. Each exam is a 90-minute test comprising of 90 questions each. The types of questions covered in each test are multiple choice, drag and drop, and performance-based. It’s important that the candidates practice the questions covering these different formats before attempting the actual certification exams.

The first exam, CompTIA 220-1001,comes with the topic areas, such as networking technologies, Cloud computing, network troubleshooting, and mobile devices, while the second test, CompTIA 220-1002, covers installing & configuring OS, software troubleshooting, expanded security, and operational procedures. Both exams are available in English, Thai, Portuguese, German, Spanish, and Japanese.

To register for the test(s), the applicants are required to visit the Pearson VUE website. The fee for taking one exam is USD$226 (roughly UGX860,000). When it comes to the passing score, you need to get at least 675 points for the first test, and 700 – for the second one. The pass-mark is on a scale of 100-900.

Although there are noformal prerequisites for passing these two certification exams, CompTIA recommends that the candidates have at least 9 to 12 months of hands-on experience, either in the field or in the lab. The good news is that there are many virtual labs online that you can explore to get practical experience you need.


Obtaining the CompTIA A+ certification is a great way to start out in the IT field. There are many career opportunities waiting to be explored for the certified specialists. Therefore, if you want to develop your career in the industry, this credential is definitely the perfect place to start. As you gain more experience in the IT sector, you can go ahead to earn more advanced-level certificates.

Back to top button
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!

Adblock Detected

Please disable your adblocker to continue accessing this site.