Site icon PC Tech Magazine

Albert Mucunguzi takes Chairman Role as ICTAU Announces Interim Board of Directors

Uganda’s ICT Industry organization yesterday announced changes in its leadership team, following an extraordinary meeting of its members held in Kampala earlier this week.

The ICT Association of Uganda (ICTAU) in a press release announced an interim Board of Directors of seven (7) members who will take office with immediate effect, led by Albert Mucunguzi.

“The Association remains committed to building a strong, unified ICT industry voice that will promote a competitive ICT sector in Uganda, with greater impact within the country and the region,” said Albert Mucunguzi in a Statement issued by the Association.

ICTAU issued Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda (then Min. of ICT) a complimentary membership

In 2013, the Association was officially launched by the then Minister of ICT, Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda at a ceremony also attended by key stakeholders including Uganda Communications Commission (UCC), and various sector players.

“[We believe] this [launch] will see prosperity and competitiveness of the IT Industry players and increase growth and development of the ICT sector,” said NITA-U’s Executive Director, James Saaka at the launch.

Indeed, the Association has gone on to contribute to competitiveness in the sector, including striking a key partnership with the International Trade Center (ITC) and other stakeholders in which the partners are implementing a USD 1million ICT export competitiveness project.

NITA-U Executive Directory with Interim Chair Albert Mucunguzi at the launch of the NTF III Project

Currently, the Association has a cumulative membership of over 400 members, according to information obtained from the Secretariat.

Mucunguzi, 30, is a founding member of the 5-year old Association, having served as Secretary General between 2012 and 2015.

Executives from MTN Uganda at the Association’s launch

The Full Board of Directors

Chairman – Albert Mucunguzi
Secretary General – Maureen Agena
Treasurer – Ronald Sebuhinja
Director – Simon Kaheru
Director – James Makumbi
Director – Steven Kirenga
Director – Boaz Shani

In the same press statement, the ICTAU also thanked outgoing board for their effort and commitment.

“The ICTAU sincerely appreciates the time and effort of the outgoing Board and appreciates the hard work and commitment given to the Association thus far.”


Exit mobile version