The new revamped WhatsApp Status gets rid of the default 'Hey there, I'm using WhatsApp' status. Image Credit: WhatsApp Blog
The new revamped WhatsApp Status gets rid of the default 'Hey there, I'm using WhatsApp' status. Image Credit: WhatsApp Blog
Advertisement Advertisement  

Early this week on Tuesday, Facebook owned social messaging platform; WhatsApp recently started rolling out its revamped Status feature, limited to only user in Europe. Now the update has been made available for all Android, iPhone, and Windows users across the globe.

The feature is a new way to engage people on its instant messaging platform, and this will be replacing the old text form of status. With the new revamped Status feature, WhatsApp users can now change their status to a short video or photos.

In a blog post, CEO WhatsApp; Jan Koum wrote saying, “We are excited to announce that, coinciding with WhatsApp’s 8th birthday on February 24, we are reinventing the status feature.”

“Starting today, iPhone, Android and Windows users can send photos, videos and GIFs through Status to share special moments throughout their day with friends and family,” said the company in a press statement.

In one interesting feature about the new update, the company also confirmed that the WhatsApp Status updates are end-to-end encrypted just like the WhatsApp chats are.

While setting it up, you can choose who will see your status; My contacts, My contacts except, and Only share with. By default, it is visible to all your contacts.

Choose who is to see you status. Comes with My Contacts as default.
Choose who is to see you status. Comes with My Contacts as default.

Getting started:
Head to the Status tab which is seen appearing Chats and Calls tabs. The camera interface will launch when you press on the New Status button giving you the option to select an existing photo in your gallery or simply shoot a short video using either the rear or front camera, both work.

You can share photos, videos, and GIFs as your WhatsApp Status, which are visible to all your contacts using the app by default and the updates will disappear after 24 hours.

All the new Statuses that you add will be put under your Status Tab. If you delete a WhatsApp Status you created, it will also be deleted from the phones of all your contacts – even from ones who’ve already seen that status.

Notably, for you to be able to see who has seen your status update, you need to have your ‘Read Receipts’ enabled.

Looks like SnapChat’s and Instagram Stories has a new competitor.

Update you app and try using the new feature, give us your feedback in the comment section below.