Micro-blogging website, Twitter Inc. in an announcement made on it’s official Twitter account, brings read receipts to its Direct Messages (DMs), letting twitter users send private messages and the time will be shown alongside a tick, to represent that the recipient has read the post.
The feature is turned on by default, but you can disable it by going to Settings >> Privacy and Safety/Content >> slide/tick the Send/Receive read receipts to the left or right.
“When someone sends you a Message, people in the conversation will know when you’ve seen it. If you turn off this setting, you won’t be able to read receipts from other people.”
Tech blog, Wired reports that, the changes were rolled out in twitter’s latest app update and users who have the feature will be notified of the change by an on-screen pop-up message when they open their DMs.
New! Direct Messages are more dynamic than ever with read receipts, typing indicators, and web link previews. pic.twitter.com/VEU92V5Gqj
— Twitter (@twitter) September 8, 2016
Other new updates include; typing indicators and Web link previews.