Microsoft has faced criticism for changing the pop-up box encouraging Windows users to upgrade to Windows 10.

Clicking the red cross on the right hand corner of the pop-up box now activates the upgrade instead of closing the box.

And this has caused confusion as typically clicking a red cross closes a pop-up notification

The upgrade could still be cancelled, when the scheduled time for it to begin appeared, Microsoft said.

The change occurred because the update is now labelled “recommended” and many people have their PCs configured to accept recommended updates for security reasons.

This means dismissing the box does not dismiss the update.

Microsoft said, “With the free Windows 10 upgrade offer ending on 29 July this year, we want to help people upgrade to the best version of Windows.”

“As we shared in October, Windows 10 will be offered as a ‘recommended’ update for Windows 7 and 8.1 customers whose Windows Update settings are configured to accept ‘recommended’ updates.

“Customers can choose to accept or decline the Windows 10 upgrade.”

[BBC]